About Us

Our History

The Regional District Fraser-Fort George was incorporated in 1967 to provide regional decision-making on issues that go beyond municipal boundaries. It is one of 27 regional districts in the Province of British Columbia. The Regional District provides a variety of services, like building inspection, parks and recreation facilities, water systems and solid waste management to the nearly 100,000 residents who call this region home. 

Working Together

The Regional District is a partnership between the four municipalities and seven electoral areas within its boundaries:

  • City of Prince George
  • District of Mackenzie
  • Village of McBride
  • Village of Valemount
  • Electoral Area A (Salmon River-Lakes)
    • including Nukko Lake, Ness Lake and Salmon Valley
  • Electoral Area C (Chilako River-Nechako)
    • including Beaverly, Mud River and Miworth
  • Electoral Area D (Tabor Lake-Stone Creek)
    • including Tabor Lake, Pineview, Buckhorn, Red Rock and Stoner
  • Electoral Area E (Woodpecker-Hixon)
  • Electoral Area F (Willow River-Upper Fraser Valley)
    • including Shelley, Giscome, Willow River, Upper Fraser, Sinclair Mills, Longworth and Penny
  • Electoral Area G (Crooked River-Parsnip)
    • including Summit Lake, Bear Lake, McLeod Lake and areas outside Mackenzie
  • Electoral Area H (Robson Valley-Canoe)
    • including Dome Creek, Crescent Spur and areas outside McBride and Valemount

Electoral areas and municipal governments in the Regional District work together through the Board of Directors to provide services in both urban and rural areas.